Auto insurance is required by law in the state of South Carolina. Auto liability and uninsured motorists are required to drive legally in the state.
Discover South Carolina’s auto insurance laws.
When looking for car insurance, you may see or hear 25/50/25 or 100/300/100. These refer to the amounts that the insurance company will pay for a claim.
South Carolina auto liability requirements are 25/50/25. What does this mean?
South Carolina Minimum Liability Requirements
What is the cover for uninsured motorists?
Although required by law to have auto insurance, Forbes estimates that 10.9% of drivers in South Carolina did not have auto insurance in 2019. That means that 1 in 10 drivers does not have car insurance and would not be able to pay for damage or bodily injury caused in an accident.
You are required by law to have uninsured motorist cover. This policy protects you against drivers who do not have car insurance and are found guilty of the accident. Your insurance company pays the claim.
You may also have underinsured motorist coverage that will cover you if the driver at fault is not adequately insured to cover the damage. Companies are required by law to provide you with an underinsured motorist, but you are not required to purchase it.
Research the state’s minimum coverage (PDF).
This is an optional supplement that covers damage to the insured’s car following a collision with another object, such as a car, fence or tree.
This covers damage to a vehicle due to other causes. Think of flooding, a tree falling on it, theft, and so on. Broken glass, such as damage to the windscreen, also falls under this. South Carolina law prohibits insurance companies from charging a deductible for windshield repairs if all is done.
Both collision and comprehensive coverage are optional in South Carolina. When taking out car insurance, it is necessary that you determine how much risk you want to transfer. The more risk that is usually transferred to the insurance company, the higher your premium will be.
How can you maintain sufficient coverage while reducing costs?
– Pay a higher deductible. Instead of paying $250 per claim, be prepared to pay $500 or $1000 per claim
– Keep a safe driving record
– Earn good grades! Most companies offer a “good student” discount. So, ASK!
– Shop around with the help of an independent agent
– Pay semi-annually or annually to get a discount
– Take a defensive driving course and tell the company
– Improve your credit score to lower insurance rates
– Bundle multiple insurance policies