How to unsend and edit messages in iOS 16

did you send An unfortunate message or a victim of an embarrassing auto-correction bug, texting can sometimes be difficult. Either way, with iOS 16 you can now unsend as well as edit your texts in messages. Of course, there are a few caveats, including time limits, but these are still great, long overdue features. Here’s how to use it.

Video: apple

For a full list of major new features, including how to download Apple’s latest operating system, check out our iOS 16 roundup.

Special Offer for Gear Readers: Get 1 year subscription to WIRED for $5 ($25 off). This includes unlimited access to WIRED.com and our printed magazine (if you like). Subscriptions help fund the work we do every day.

How to cancel sending messages

Apple via Brenda Joiner

If you’re going to unsend a message, it’s important to remember that you only have two minutes to do so. Just long press in the message, tap Cancel Send, and voila! You will immediately see an animation in which your message explodes into small pieces before it disappears completely.

While the other person (most likely) won’t see the text, both parties will see the delete message notification in the message window. Those who submit the text will see a line that reads: “You didn’t send a message.” Meanwhile, those who received the text will see a warning that says “[Insert Your Contact Name Here] unsent message.”

But this feature will only work successfully if both people are running iOS 16 on their iPhones. If you unsend a message while texting someone using iOS 15, the text will disappear from your phone but remain on the other person’s device. You will also receive a notification that says “You didn’t send a message. [Insert contact name here] may still see the message on devices where the software has not been updated.”

How to edit posts

Apple via Brenda Joiner

To edit a post, long press to text and tap Edit. From there, a small text field will appear where you can rewrite the entire message or correct a typo. When you’re done, click on blue tick on the right and the edited message will appear. Whenever the text changes you will see blue “Edited” label underneath. When you click on it, it will display the entire edit history (depending on how many times it has been edited) in chronological order.

As with the “Unsend Message” feature, this will only work if both you and the person you’re sending a text message to are running iOS 16. If someone is using iOS 15, they’ll get the message “Edited for [insert the new edited message]”under the original post.

It is worth noting that there is also a time limit for editing messages. You will have 15 minutes to edit the text, but you can only change it five times. So you can choose these changes wisely.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.